Walker Triumphs in Junior Finals

3rd Oct. 10

The recently held Herne Bay Junior Tennis Club Finals were a triumph for the Walker family. Daniel led the way with wins in all 3 finals and sister Lauren won the mixed final and also the award for the Most Improved Girl of the Year. In the Boys Doubles final Jack Bissenden made his first appearance on club finals day alongside Daniel Walker and they matched up against reigning champion David Symons and his new partner Alex Thorne. It was another closely fought final with some great net play not often seen at junior level. In the end Daniel and Jack came out on top with a 6-4 win. In the Boy’s U18 Singles the players set a higher standard than in previous years, with every competitor giving a great performance which was really impressive to watch. Daniel Walker battled his way through to his third consecutive final, whilst in the other half of the draw Jack Bissenden fought his way through to set up a clash with his doubles partner. The two different styles of the players created a very close final which Daniel Walker eventually closed out with a 7-6 win. The Girls U18 Singles had 5 competing in it and concluded with the reigning champion from the last 2 years, Emily Bundock, taking on debutant Mollie Eyles. It was a well fought match but Mollie’s powerful ground strokes proved too much in the end for Emily and she won in straight sets. Lastly the Mixed Doubles final this year had the highest standard of mixed doubles play we have seen at the club for a long time. This was partly due to the stronger girls who are now coming regularly to coaching. The reigning champions and the family pairing of Daniel and Lauren Walker made the final again, this time competing against Mollie Eyles and David Symons. The final was a great battle, which eventually finished with the Walker’s retaining their title with a 7-5 victory and completing Daniel’s hat trick. The younger members of the club were also involved in finals which saw Rebecca Curland become the Mini Red Champion, Elliot Wraight the Mini Orange Champion and Harry Mounter the Mini Green Champion. The 2 awards for the most Improved Players of the Year went to Lauren Walker and Harry Carter.